Introduction

This is the book introduction.

Enjoy.

Introduction

The word “Travel” comes from middle-English “travailen”, which comes from “travailler”, from Old French.

One of my main reasons to travel is the escape from “normal” life, a life which includes the daily routine of waking up and go to work and everything related and in-between; a life that it isn’t normal. A normal life to me is one free of routine, where impredictability is th norm and full of unexpected events.

SO, around May 2010, I decided to leave my safe but ultimately insatisfactory job and live the live I always wanted since I begun travelling alone the year before; a not-announced decision and maybe totally selfish, but much needed at that point.

My first travel was a thirteen day stay in the Argentinean Patagonia, more precisely in the southmost city of the world, Ushuaia. Altough this title – or condition – is disputed between two other cities, Ushuaia came to me almost immediately: located in Argentina, I country I always wanted to know, and capital of the archipelago-province of Tierra del Fuego.

Separated from the mainland by the Magellan Strait and discovered by Ferdinand Magellan in 1520, I started to develop romantic vision regarding that south tip of the American continent. When I first began to research about my destination – researches that are the first integral stage of any travel and that can be fun and tiring at the same time – I was torn between Ushuaia and the city of San Carlos de Bariloche, but not for long. My main problem and what fundamentally helped in my decision is that Bariloche was the more well known between the two and that would mean a city full of tourists, not travellers. Ushuaia seemed far more exotic and I ended up going there.
Almost a year later, together with a friend, I was making plan for a car trip to Bolivia, Peru, Chile and Argentina.

The Art of Traveliness can be found here:

About Pedro Merigui

The Art of Traveliness book can be obtained here: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/43106
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

